Washington State Potato Commission names chairman

07/12/2013 10:56:00 AM
Mike Hornick

Courtesy Washington State Potato CommissionJared Balcom, right, is the new chairman of the Washington State Potato Commission. He succeeds Bob Halverson, left.The Washington State Potato Commission has named grower Jared Balcom as chairman, succeeding Bob Halverson.

The transition was effective July 1. Balcom, a Pasco, Wash.-based potato grower, has been a commissioner since 2005.

“There are multiple legislative, research, and communication initiatives that the commission will continue to focus on to benefit the Washington state potato industry,” Balcom said in a news release.

Other commission officers are:

  • Nelson Cox, Warden, first vice chairman
  • Mike Dodds, Moses Lake, second vice chairman
  • Nick Johnson, Othello, secretary
  • Rex Calloway, Quincy, treasurer
  • Bob Halverson, Toppenish, past chairman

The officers were named at the commission’s annual meeting.

Halverson continues to serve as a commissioner, as he has since 2000. One of 15 commissioners, he is in his fifth term.

Nine of the 15 are grower-elected positions and five are appointed. A representative from the Washington State Department of Agriculture also sits on the board.

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight