Federal bill introduced that would require labeling of GMOs

05/01/2013 07:56:00 AM
Vicky Boyd

Despite the defeat of a similar California initiative last year, California Sen. Barbara Boxer, D-Calif., and Rep. Peter DeFazio, D-Ore., have introduced federal measures that would require labeling of all genetically engineered foods.

The bipartisan legislation, known formally as the "Genetically Engineered Food Right-to-Know Act," has 20 co-sponsors in the House of Representatives and Senate, according to a news release.

The measure would require all foods derived from genetic engineering or that contain genetically engineered ingredients to be labeled as such. Genetically engineered organisms also are known as GMOs, or genetically modified organisms.

Sen. Barbara BoxerCourtesy Sen. Barbara Boxer's officeSen. Barbara Boxer, D-Calif., has introduced a bill in the Senate that would require labeling of genetically engineered foods.The Food and Drug Administration would oversee to ensure the foods are labeled properly.

The bill comes at the same time that Washington state legislators are considering a similar proposal.

California voters defeated Proposition 37, which would have required labeling of genetically engineered foods, in November 2012.

Co-sponsors of the Senate bill are Sens. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Mark Begich (D-Alaska), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii) and Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) are cosponsors of the Senate bill.

Reps. Jared Polis (D-Colo.), Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii), Chellie Pingree (D-Maine), Donna Christensen (D-Virgin Islands), Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), James Moran (D-Va.), Louise Slaughter (D-N.Y.), Don Young (R-Alaska), Jim McDermott (D-Wash.), Raul Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.), Jared Huffman (D-Calif.), Jackie Speier (D-Calif.), Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), Gerry Connolly (D-Va.), George Miller (D-Calif.), David Cicilline (D-R.I.), Barbara Lee (D-Calif.), Grace Napolitano (D-Calif.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.) and Ann Kuster (D-N.H.) are cosponsors of the House bill.

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight